Canucks Announce Team Awards for 2021.22 Season

…Presented by Parq Casino Resort

by Canucks Communications @Canucks / Vancouver Canucks

Vancouver, B.C. – The Vancouver Canucks announced their annual Team Awards, presented by Parq Casino Resort, during their final home game of the regular season on April 28 at Rogers Arena. Among the seven awards announced, four were voted on by Canucks fans from April 20 to 26.

Thatcher Demko: Cyclone Taylor Trophy – “Most Valuable Player”

  • Thatcher Demko earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy for the first time in his career as the Canucks’ “Most Valuable Player,” as voted by the fans. Posting a 33-22-7 record this season along with a 2.72 goals-against average and .915 save percentage, Demko is second among Pacific Division goaltenders in wins (33) and ranks tied for sixth-most wins in franchise history in a single season.
  • Earlier this season, Demko was selected to represent Vancouver and the Pacific Division at his first ever NHL All-Star Weekend in Las Vegas, NV.

Quinn Hughes: Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy – “Best Defenceman”

  • For the third year in a row, Quinn Hughes won the fan vote for the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy as the club’s “Best Defenceman,” becoming the first player to win the award in three consecutive seasons since Ed Jovanovski did so from 2000.01 to 2002.03. Hughes has enjoyed a spectacular 2021.22 season, setting new career-highs in several categories so far: Games played (76), goals (8), assists (58), points (66), plus-minus (+8), power play points (33), and average time on ice (25:12).
  • Hughes (8-58-66) also broke multiple long-standing franchise records this season, including Dennis Kearns’ record for most assists by a defenceman in a season (55 in 1976.77) and Doug Lidster’s record for most points in a season by a defenceman (63 in 1986.87).

J.T. Miller: Pavel Bure Award – “Most Exciting Player”

  • J.T. Miller has been voted as the winner of the Pavel Bure Award, as the “Most Exciting Player,” having shattered multiple personal bests this season, including goals (31), assists (66), points (97) and power play points (37), leading the Canucks in each of these categories. His 97 points (31-66-97) are also tied for seventh-most in a single season in franchise history, while his 66 assists are the fifth-most recorded by a Canuck in one season, trailing only four occasions by Henrik Sedin.

J.T. Miller: Three Stars Award & Leading Scorer*

  • In addition to the Pavel Bure Award, J.T. Miller is also slated to earn the Three Stars Award with a team-leading 20 three-stars selections this season as well as the Cyrus H. McLean Trophy as the team’s leading scorer, to be announced officially once the regular season concludes. With a 31-point differential between himself and the next closest scoring leaders (Pettersson, Hughes), Miller could become the first Canuck since Pavel Bure in 1997.98 to lead the team in scoring by a margin of 30 or more points.

Luke Schenn: Fred J. Hume Award – “Unsung Hero”

  • Voted as the recipient of the Fred J. Hume Award as the team’s “Unsung Hero,” Luke Schenn has established himself as a key component of Vancouver’s blueline during his second stint with the club and endeared himself to the fans in the process with his strong physical and defensive play. He ranks second among NHL defencemen in hits (264) and has led the Canucks in hits on 36 occasions so far this season, including a 12-hit effort on January 31 at Chicago in which he tied the franchise record for hits in a game, previously set by himself in 2019.
  • In the offensive zone, Schenn (5-11-16) has also matched a career-high in goals (5) and recorded his highest points total (16) since 2015.16. On April 25, he was announced as the Canucks’ nominee for the NHL’s Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

Brandon Sutter: Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award – “Community Leadership”

  • Brandon Sutter was named the winner of the Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award for community leadership, introduced by the club in 2019.20. Despite being unable to play this season, Sutter has remained a vital part of the Canucks leadership group and has been a huge supporter of the local community over the years, most notably through his support of the Canucks for Kids Fund and as an ambassador for Special Olympics BC and their Sports Celebrities Festival. Through his ticket program, Sutter’s Squad, Sutter is also taking the initiative in ensuring that everyone with a love for the sport has the chance to attend games and be a part of the fun and passionate game of hockey.

Summary of 2021.22 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

  • Cyclone Taylor Trophy – “Most Valuable Player” (fan vote): Thatcher Demko
  • Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy – “Best Defenceman” (fan vote): Quinn Hughes
  • Pavel Bure Award – “Most Exciting Player” (fan vote): J.T. Miller
  • Fred J. Hume Award – “Unsung Hero” (fan vote): Luke Schenn
  • Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award – “Community Leadership”: Brandon Sutter
  • Cyrus H. McLean Trophy – “Leading Scorer”: J.T. Miller*
  • Three Stars Award – “Most Three Stars Selections”: J.T. Miller*

*Will be announced officially upon the conclusion of the regular season

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s