2022-23 Jack Adams Award Finalists Announced


By NHL Public Relations

May 5, 2023

NEW YORK (May 5, 2023) – Dave Hakstol of the Seattle Kraken, Jim Montgomery of the Boston Bruins and Lindy Ruff of the New Jersey Devils are the three finalists for the 2022-23 Jack Adams Award, presented to the head coach who has “contributed the most to his team’s success,” the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association submitted ballots for the Jack Adams Award after the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be revealed live during the 2023 NHL Awards at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on Monday, June 26 (8 p.m. ET, TNT, SN, TVAS).

Following are the finalists for the Jack Adams Award, in alphabetical order:

Dave Hakstol, Seattle Kraken

Hakstol guided Seattle (46-28-8, 100 points) to the club’s first-ever berth in the Stanley Cup Playoffs in just its second season, with the Kraken joining the Vegas Golden Knights and Atlanta Flames (now Calgary Flames) as the only franchises since 1968-69 to start from scratch and reach the postseason within their first two NHL campaigns. Their 19-win and 40-point improvements from their inaugural NHL season to the second were the largest in League history. After ranking 29th in offense in their debut season with 216 goals (shootout-deciding goals included), the Kraken rose to sixth in 2022-23 with 289, a 34% increase. Seattle allowed the NHL’s fourth-fewest shots on goal per game last season (28.9) and were even stingier in Year 2, ranking second League-wide at 27.0. Hakstol is the second Kraken representative voted a 2022-23 NHL Awards finalist, following forward Matty Beniers (Calder Trophy).

Jim Montgomery, Boston Bruins

In his first season behind the bench for the Bruins (65-12-5, 135 points), Montgomery oversaw a Presidents’ Trophy-winning campaign that rewrote the NHL record book. Perched atop the Atlantic Division from start to finish – just the fourth team in the NHL’s modern era (since 1943-44) to lead wire-to-wire – the Bruins set NHL records for most wins (65) and points (135), including a League-record 14-game home winning streak from the start of a season (Oct. 15 to Dec. 3) and the unprecedented feat of five winning streaks of 7+ games in a season. Boston had a +128 goal differential (including shootout-deciding goals), the highest by any club since 1995-96 (Detroit, +144). Montgomery is a Jack Adams finalist for the first time and is vying to become the fifth Bruins bench boss to capture the award, joining Don Cherry (1975-76), Pat Burns (1997-98), Claude Julien (2008-09) and Bruce Cassidy (2019-20).

Lindy Ruff, New Jersey Devils

Ruff led the Devils (52-22-8, 112 points) to franchise records for wins and points en route to third place in the NHL overall standings, the team’s highest placement since finishing third overall in 2000-01. They posted a 49-point improvement over 2021-22, the largest year-over-year gain since the League implemented an 82-game schedule in 1995‑96. The team tallied 291 goals (including goals for shootout wins), its highest total since 2000-01 (295), and its average of 34.4 shots on goal per game was the highest in franchise history. Ruff, who completed his 22nd NHL regular season fifth on the all-time coaching list for games (1,713) and wins (834), is a Jack Adams finalist for the fourth time representing his third NHL club. He captured the award with the Buffalo Sabres in 2005-06, finished second in voting with the Sabres in 2006-07 and third with the Dallas Stars in 2015-16. He aims to become the second winner in Devils franchise history, following Jacques Lemaire in 1993-94.


The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association in 1974 in honor of the late Jack Adams, longtime coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings.

Announcement Schedule

The three finalists for the 2023 NHL Awards are being announced through Friday, May 12. The series of announcements continues Tuesday, May 9, when the three finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy will be unveiled.

Source: nhl.com