Canada, United States Top Respective Groups At End Of Preliminary Round At 2022 World Junior Championships

The Preliminary Round is over with the North American teams winning their groups.

The top-four teams of each group advance while for Austria and Slovakia the tournament is over.

Quarter-Finals (17 August)

After a day off for the final-round participants the four quarter-final games will be played at Rogers Place in Edmonton on Wednesday, 17 August 2022 with the following pairings:

  • Finland vs. Germany 10:00 local time (18:00 CET, 19:00 EET)
  • Sweden vs. Latvia 13:30 local time (21:30 CET, 22:30 EET)
  • Canada vs. Switzerland 17:00 local time (7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1:00 CET)
  • USA vs. Czechia 20:30 local time (10:30pm ET, 7:30pm PT, 4:30 CET)

All games are broadcast in the respective countries. Click here to find your broadcaster.

Semi-Finals (19 August)

  • Semi-Final 1 14:00 local time
  • Semi-Final 2 18:00 local time

The semi-finals will be played on Friday, 19 August 2022 and be reseeded according to the following seeding based on the preliminary-round results: 1. Canada, 2. USA, 3. Sweden, 4. Finland, 5. Germany, 6. Latvia, 7. Czechia, 8. Switzerland.

Of the four remaining teams the best-ranked team will play against the lowest-ranked semi-finalist. The 2nd-best ranked semi-finalist will play the 3rd-best ranked semi-finalist.

The host if qualified, or otherwise the best-ranked semi-finalist according to beforementioned criteria, shall play the early game.

Medal Games (20 August)

  • Bronze Medal Game 14:00 local time
  • Gold Medal Game 18:00 local time

Source: iihf.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s