2022.23 Vancouver Canucks Season Team Awards

The Vancouver Canucks salute the fans after their NHL game against the Calgary Flames at Rogers Arena on April 8, 2023 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. (Photo by Derek Cain/Getty Images)

by Canucks Communications @Canucks / Vancouver Canucks

 April 8, 2023

Vancouver, B.C. – The Vancouver Canucks announced their annual Team Awards during their final home game of the regular season on April 8 at Rogers Arena. Among the seven awards announced, four were voted on by Canucks fans from April 2 to 6.

Elias Pettersson: Cyclone Taylor Trophy – “Most Valuable Player”

  • Elias Pettersson earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy for the first time in his career, as he was voted the Canucks “Most Valuable Player” by fans. Pettersson has enjoyed a career season, setting new career-highs across the board with 37 goals, 61 assists, and 98 points. Prior to the team’s game on April 8 against Calgary, Pettersson owns sole possession of the eighth-highest scoring season in franchise history.
  • Pettersson also was chosen to represent the Canucks and the Pacific Division at the 2023 NHL All-Star Weekend in Sunrise, FL. This was his third career All-Star appearance and first since 2019 when the event took place in St. Louis, MO. In the Skills Competition, Pettersson took home the hardest shot award with a 103.2 mph blast.

Quinn Hughes: Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy – “Best Defenceman”

  • For the fourth year in a row, Quinn Hughes won the fan vote for the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy as the club’s “Best Defenceman,” becoming the first player to win the award in four consecutive seasons. Hughes also joins Harold Snepsts, Jyrki Lumme, and Mattias Ohlund as the only players to win the award four times.  
  • Hughes continued his record-breaking ways this season, setting a number of franchise records and one NHL record. He broke his own franchise record for most assists in a single season by a defenceman with 62 on March 21 and just five days later accomplished the same feat in the points category by a defenceman with 69. Also last month, on March 4 against Toronto, Hughes became the fastest defenceman in NHL history to reach 200 career assists, doing so in just his 263rd regular season game.

Andrei Kuzmenko: Pavel Bure Award – “Most Exciting Player”

  • Andrei Kuzmenko has been voted the winner of the Pavel Bure Award as the “Most Exciting Player” in his first season in the NHL. Kuzmenko achieved numerous accolades this season, including most goals (38) and points (71) by a first-year player in franchise history, while also leading the league in shooting percentage (27.0%). He is also the first player to win this “Most Exciting Player” award in their first season with the team since Nils Höglander in 2020.21.
  • ‘Kuzy’ also leads all first-year NHL players in scoring this season by a healthy margin, recording 71 points (38-33-71), which is 15 more than the next highest scorer.

Elias Pettersson: Three Stars Award & Leading Scorer*

  • In addition to the Cyclone Taylor Trophy, Elias Pettersson has also clinched the “Three Stars Award” with a team-leading 21 three-stars selections so far this season, and is slated to capture the Cyrus H. McLean Trophy as the team’s leading scorer, with the latter award to be officially announced upon the conclusion of the regular season.

Dakota Joshua: Fred J. Hume Award – “Unsung Hero”

  • Voted the recipient of the Fred J. Hume Award as the team’s “Unsung Hero”, Dakota Joshua has established himself as a key component of the Canucks’ identity, demonstrating resiliency in firmly establishing himself as an NHLer, setting career-highs in games played (75), goals (11), assists (11), and points (22). Joshua is also first among current Canucks in hits this season (211) and scored his first career power play goal and shorthanded goal this season. His determined and physical two-way play has made positive impacts in all situations, particularly on the penalty kill, and his presence on the ice has been a welcome addition to the club.

Brock Boeser: Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award – “Community Leadership”

  • Brock Boeser was named the winner of this year’s Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award for “Community Leadership”, introduced by the club in 2019.20. Despite battling injuries at the beginning of the season, Boeser has been a vital part of the Canucks’ roster and has been an integral part of the community for a number of seasons thanks to his efforts to help raise funds for the Canucks for Kids Fund. Boeser’s contributions to the community include his donations and the purchasing of tickets for children fighting illness or injury through the Boeser’s Beauties program, launched in 2019. He also continues to contribute to Parkinson Society BC and Parkinson’s Foundation Minnesota through his Pucks for Parkinson’s program, where he donates $1,000 for every goal he scores, in honour of his late father, Duke.

Summary of 2022.23 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

  • Cyclone Taylor Trophy – “Most Valuable Player” (fan vote): Elias Pettersson
  • Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy – “Best Defenceman” (fan vote): Quinn Hughes
  • Pavel Bure Award – “Most Exciting Player” (fan vote): Andrei Kuzmenko
  • Fred J. Hume Award – “Unsung Hero” (fan vote): Dakota Joshua
  • Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award – “Community Leadership”: Brock Boeser
  • Cyrus H. McLean Trophy – “Leading Scorer”: Elias Pettersson*
  • Three Stars Award – “Most Three Stars Selections”: Elias Pettersson

*Will be officially awarded upon the conclusion of the regular season

Source: nhl.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s